Hologic Versus GE Lunar Bone Densitometers: How to Compare the Systems
Primary query: Are older DEXA models worth buying today?
Last reviewed: September 2026
Hologic and GE Lunar both build dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry systems. Clinics call the exam DEXA or DXA. Neither brand wins on every published spec. Horizon and iDXA are the current lines. Discovery and Prodigy remain common on the used market. Match the model, the licenses, and the parts path to your patient mix. Then ask for a quote on that serial number.
The CDC reports that nearly 1 in 5 women and 1 in 20 men over age 50 have osteoporosis. Specs still change by configuration. Confirm each figure on the serial number before you buy. Amber Diagnostics lists both brands. This page compares documented differences. It does not name a house brand.
Table of Contents
- How do Hologic and GE Lunar systems differ?
- What changed from Hologic Discovery to Horizon?
- What is the difference between GE Lunar Prodigy and iDXA?
- Are older DEXA models worth buying today?
- What do refurbished DEXA systems cost?
- What do install, service, and QC need?
- Why buy a bone densitometer from Amber Diagnostics?
- Frequently asked questions
- Related pages
- Sources
- Internal review note
How do Hologic and GE Lunar systems differ?
Hologic describes Horizon OnePass as a single-sweep fan-beam scan, meant to cut beam-overlap error. GE describes Lunar iDXA as a narrow-angle fan beam with Multi-View Image Reconstruction, or MVIR. GE states that this method removes distortion seen in non-Lunar fan-beam densitometers. The Amber beam guide says the Prodigy line uses a narrow-angle fan beam with more than one pass.
The Horizon page lists up to 500 pounds and 24 inches of C-arm clearance. The iDXA brochure lists 450 pounds, or 204 kg. These sources do not state a Prodigy weight limit. Hologic states bone density scans of about 10 to 30 seconds. Body composition can take as little as 2 minutes, or 3 minutes on the Amber Horizon Wi page.
Tool names differ, and a brochure feature is not a license on your unit. Horizon Wi material names InnerCore, a Fat Mass Index, and Instant Vertebral Assessment. iDXA material names CoreScan and Dual-energy Vertebral Assessment. The Prodigy page lists LVA and DVA.
Hologic documents center on Apex. GE Lunar systems here use enCORE. An old Windows build can block PACS and security updates even when the scanner still runs. Bone mineral density values are not interchangeable. The makers use different calibration and different reference data. A brand change needs a new baseline or a cross-calibration study.
| Point | Hologic | GE Lunar |
|---|---|---|
| Current line | Horizon | iDXA |
| Used models Amber lists | Discovery, Horizon Wi | Prodigy, iDXA |
| Beam | Single-sweep fan beam | Narrow-angle fan beam |
| Patient weight | Up to 500 lb | Up to 450 lb on iDXA |
| C-arm clearance | 24 inches | Not stated here |
| Software | Apex | enCORE |
| Visceral fat | InnerCore | CoreScan |
| Vertebral image | IVA | DVA or LVA |
| BMD baseline | Not interchangeable | Not interchangeable |
What changed from Hologic Discovery to Horizon?
Horizon is the current Hologic line. Discovery is the earlier generation. Amber still lists Discovery, Discovery W, and Discovery SL. The Horizon technical manual lists letters A, W, Wi, C, and Ci. Duty cycle is not the same on every letter. IVA HD is not universal.
Do not pay a Horizon premium for a badge if you only need AP spine and hip bone mineral density. A refurbished Discovery can do that work when parts, software, and QC records are sound. Pay more only when the unit has the applications you need. The model letter alone is not proof.
What is the difference between GE Lunar Prodigy and iDXA?
Both use enCORE. They are not the same platform. The iDXA brochure describes a direct-digital detector, MVIR, and a 450-pound table limit. The Amber Prodigy page lists spine, femur, forearm, LVA, FRAX, and body composition.
Prodigy Advance, Prodigy Pro, and the older DPX line also appear in Amber source material. Prodigy fits routine screening when the licenses you bill are present. iDXA fits a larger table, high-BMI imaging, or visceral fat analysis when those applications are licensed. CoreScan travels with the license.
Are older DEXA models worth buying today?
Yes, when four gates all pass. No, when one gate fails.
You can name a parts channel for the exact model. Current pages feature Horizon and iDXA. Discovery and Prodigy remain in used inventory. Pencil-beam units take longer to scan and fit a low-volume room. This page does not rank models green, yellow, or red.
The quoted computer needs an Apex or enCORE build your IT team can connect to PACS. The seller can show calibration records and a phantom history. If you change brands, plan a new baseline. Someone other than one stranded seller can service the unit. This page does not state Amber warranty length, parts coverage, or response time.
DEXA costs less to buy than CT or MRI. The 2026 guide places refurbished DEXA from $16,000 to $45,000. The same library places refurbished MRI entry systems from $100,000 to $250,000. Check the CMS Physician Fee Schedule for CPT 77080 and CPT 77081. This page does not quote a payment rate.
Buy the model family, not the badge. Do not buy a DEXA system when you cannot verify the parts channel.
What do refurbished DEXA systems cost?
These bands come from the Amber 2026 price guide. They are market ranges, not quotes.
| Tier | Market range | What moves the price |
|---|---|---|
| Entry | $16,000 to $21,000 | Older generation |
| Intermediate | $22,000 to $28,000 | Mid generation |
| Premium | $30,000 to $45,000 | Current generation |
Price moves with generation, software, scan speed, body composition, visceral fat tools, vertebral assessment, pediatric tools, and supply. A cheap listing often leaves out de-installation, shipping, install, calibration, training, and first-year service. Ask for an all-in figure.
The public buyer FAQ states a wider span, from $10,000 to $35,000. That page is not the 2026 guide. The guide estimates financing at about three to seven years and leasing at about three to five years. A planning figure is about $500 to $1,200 per month. It is not an offer. Full service coverage in that guide is commonly $5,000 to $10,000 per year. That is a service-cost range, not a warranty term.
What do install, service, and QC need?
Most DEXA rooms do not need lead shielding. Planning guidance is a standard clinical room of about 10 by 14 feet, with about 8 feet of ceiling clearance. Exact needs vary. The 2011 iDXA brochure lists a dedicated circuit: 120 VAC at 20A, or 230 to 240 VAC at 10A. Confirm power, floor load, and ceiling height on your serial number.
The CDC states that a DEXA scan uses a very low dose, similar to an x-ray. State rules can still say you need to register the x-ray source. Refurbished systems in the 2026 guide can be available in one to three weeks. Installation normally takes 4 to 8 hours. First-patient readiness is about one to two days after calibration, QC, and training. Keep the phantom log after install.
Why buy a bone densitometer from Amber Diagnostics?
The public inventory includes Hologic Horizon Wi, Hologic Discovery, GE Lunar iDXA, and GE Lunar Prodigy. Amber states that it has refurbished these systems for more than twenty years. Amber also states that it can guide installation and technical servicing, and that it can custom recondition a system.
This page does not call Amber an authorized Hologic or GE HealthCare dealer. It does not set a preferred brand, publish warranty length, or name customers. The published phone number is 407-438-7847.
Inventory: https://www.amberusa.com/equipment/bone-densitometer/
Contact: https://www.amberusa.com/contact-us/
Frequently asked questions
GE Lunar versus Hologic DEXA: which is better?
Neither brand wins on every documented spec. Horizon and iDXA are the current lines. Discovery and Prodigy remain common used systems. Horizon publishes a 500-pound limit and a single-sweep fan beam. The iDXA brochure publishes a 450-pound limit and MVIR. Licenses matter more than the badge.
Hologic Horizon versus Discovery: what changed?
Horizon is the current Hologic line. Discovery is the earlier generation still sold used. Horizon documents center on Apex, OnePass, and a published 500-pound limit. Discovery can still cover AP spine and hip bone mineral density when parts, software, and QC records pass. Confirm vertebral assessment and body composition on the serial number.
GE Lunar Prodigy versus iDXA: what is the difference?
Both use enCORE. iDXA is the later platform, with MVIR, a larger table, and a published 450-pound limit. Prodigy covers routine bone density and can include body composition when that license is present. Visceral fat tools such as CoreScan travel with the license, not with the hardware alone.
What are the most reliable DEXA scanner models?
Reliability on the used market tracks parts access and a service path. Horizon, iDXA, Discovery, and Prodigy are the families Amber still lists. This draft does not rank them. Confirm parts, software, QC records, and service on the unit you quote.
Which DEXA models still have parts and service?
Current manufacturer pages feature Horizon and iDXA. Discovery and Prodigy remain in used inventory. Older pencil-beam units and early DPX-era systems need a parts check before a low price looks like a bargain. Confirm status by serial number. This page does not publish an OEM end-of-support date.
Are older DEXA models worth buying today?
Yes, when parts, software, the operating system, QC records, and a service path all pass. No, when one of those four fails. Downtime costs more than the discount on a unit you cannot support.
Can I compare bone density results between Hologic and GE Lunar?
Not as one baseline. The makers use different calibration and different reference data. A brand change needs a new baseline or a cross-calibration study. Do not read this as advice on a T-score.
How much does a refurbished DEXA scanner cost?
The Amber 2026 price guide uses three approximate bands: $16,000 to $21,000, $22,000 to $28,000, and $30,000 to $45,000. These are market ranges, not quotes. Ask for an all-in price that states what install, training, and service include.
Related pages
- Refurbished bone densitometers: https://www.amberusa.com/equipment/bone-densitometer/
- Pencil beam versus fan beam DXA: https://www.amberusa.com/blog/bone-densitometer-options-choosing-pencil-fan-beam-dxa/
- Bone densitometer buyer FAQ: https://www.amberusa.com/bone-densitometer-buying-faq/
- More on Hologic: https://www.amberusa.com/blog/5-interesting-facts-about-womens-health-producer-hologic/
- Buyer guides: https://www.amberusa.com/buyers-guides/
- About Amber Diagnostics: https://www.amberusa.com/about/
- Request a quote: https://www.amberusa.com/contact-us/
Tell Amber your patient mix, your room size, and your budget. Ask which configuration matches that mix, and which licenses are on the unit.
Sources
Hologic Horizon page and QDR technical manual. Amber Horizon Wi, iDXA, Prodigy, inventory, beam, and buyer FAQ pages. GE Lunar iDXA brochure. CDC DEXA facts page, reviewed July 15, 2026. Amber 2026 price guide, recorded September 25, 2026.
Internal review note
This draft withholds Amber brand preference, resale-liquidity ranks, a parts traffic-light table, warranty terms, the removed square-footage claim, customer names, authorized-dealer status, a Prodigy weight limit, and a Medicare dollar rate. Unpublished cluster URLs are not linked.